Holy smokes it’s mid June already

I know I haven’t written much lately but didn’t realize that it’s been 2.5 months.  Shame on me.

So here is a quick update on happenings.

Heather broke.  Like..broken.  I apparently am very good at breaking her so I have forced her to find a real coach..one who won’t break her every season.

In early May I ran a 25k trail race and finished in the top 25ish. I honestly don’t remember but what I can tell you was that it was a lot of fun.  I had some serious stomach issues that resulted in some good story telling later on.  The course was brand new and was kind of nutty.  I plan on hitting up this one again next year.

Pineland 50k-  A bunch of us rented a lake house and made the trip up to pineland.  We had several people running on saturday and then I was solo for the 50k.  My wife, Heather , and Steve crewed me through to one of the best race finishes of my short career.  34th overall and 7th in my age group.  I’m still paying for it in my recovery but it was worth it.  Also got to meet up with Astrid at the start and it was nice catching up.  She had a fantastic race also.  I think after last years mud mania we all just couldn’t help but run fast.  Ton of fun and I plan on doing it again next year.

So I finally made the decision to hire a coach.  I hired Kristina Marie Folcik-Welts.  I have known Kristina and her husband Ryan for a few months now and have followed them on the racing circuit for a bit now.  Kristina’s focus is on the beginner runner but I talked with her and we both agreed that she could give me a good running plan and some accountability to reach some of my goals this summer.  My main focus is the 75 mile stage race in August.  

Earlier this year there was some noise about the Vermont 100 possibly ending due to the RD stepping down and no one really wanting to step in.  Land owners are not happy with the event and it just seems like it’s possible that it’s not going to be around next year.  It might..most likely someone will step up. It’s one of the originals and without it the grandslam of ultrarunning will be a thing of the past. 

What does this mean for me though.  I’m not sure I want to count on the race existing next year.  Instead I think I want to keep next year open and maybe find a 100 mile race that I am interested in.  There are plenty to choose from that don’t require a lottery to get into.  I’m not interested in Western States or Leadville.  I’ll find the right one I have no doubt.  It will just take some time.  Until then I have so many cool trails to run in the whites.  Plenty of FKT’s routes to enjoy.  This summer I plan on doing the presi traverse and if I find the energy the Pemi loop.

It’s mid-june and we plan on attacking the 4k’s –  This sunday we are going to be fast packing/ running Pierce and Eisenhower.  

Did I mention I broke my wife too?  Her calf is all ganked up from running the trails…  She made a joke the other day that we should all have different traffic signs on the back of our shirts…  Mine is “Do not Follow”   Heathers is  “Speed enforced by Radar” Lise  “Slower traffic keep right.”…

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Holy smokes it’s mid June already

  1. Vermont 2015 is gonna happen. There’s too many folks that love this race to let it lapse. The new RD may have to amend the course a bit. So be it.
    Congrats on the recent races!
    I’ll follow Lise’s shirt.

  2. limaromeobravo

    You didn’t break me! It was the wake up call I needed to take strengthening my legs and hips more seriously. PT for lyfe!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

