Crazy day

As much as I enjoy the digital format… There is something about hand writing that is much more engaging. I would love to leave a library of hand written journals for someone to read someday.

I found some really neat ways to make leather covered journals.

A few years ago I got fascinated with book binding. If I ever got a chance to never have to work again I would take classes in boston and learn how to hand bind books. I have NO idea why I am obsessed with it. It seems so…amazing. Hard to explain.

There is a school in Boston that specializes in a lot of these lost arts.
It’s the North Bennet Street school. Really..I have no idea why I want to do this so bad.

Can you tell it freaks me out?

Some other stuff….. Three posts in one day.

Signed up for the Emerald Necklace three stage race. Basically….75 miles, done over three days. 13k in elevation over the three days. I signed Heater up as a teammate. Lise is going to be our primary crew chief , moving our camp for us while we run each stage. After signing up I was a bit sick to my stomach…Heater just laughed. Glad to see she is in a better mind set than me on this right now. I’ll come around, just seems so daunting to me right now but then again I haven’t run farther than 3 miles in two weeks.

I think it’s going to take a bit of planning but we have plenty of time and lots of gear to buy so how can that be so bad?

The summer of taking it easy just turned into one crazy run after another…A brief overview of what’s ahead.

Amherst Trail race- 15 miles (may 3rd)
Pineland- 32 Miles. (May 28th ish..)
Exeter Trail race- 10 Miles (June 28th)

Then things get silly…

Loon Mountain Race – 7 Miles of hell (July 6th)
BearBrook “marathon” – 28 miles plus all the miles of course marking the week and days before with Ryan (July 19th)

Fish Fry camp! – It’s in July sometime. Hoping to get as many people up north from the team as we can. We are going to stay at Amanda’s camp and I hope to run Isolation. Everyone else is going to throw beer cans at Heather and I but Isolation is a bucket list run. Need to get this one done. expecting it to be an 18 Mile day.

I start my VT 100 Training. Expecting it to take one year. Still on the fence on whether I want to hire a coach or not. Not sure I can afford it. I’ll talk with Kristina and maybe I can work the first 6 months on my own and then hire Kristina for the final six to get me to the 100.

Pemi-loop FKT – 32 Miles loop of the white mountain Pemi-wilderness. FKT is in the 8-9 hour range ..hoping to complete in 12. Heater is in on this one…going to be crazy. Date? TBD

Franconia Loop FKT- 7 miles…took 7 hours just hiking last time. FKT is 1:43 for men… Date TBD but will need to be a weekday. This is the most hiked loop in the whites..Early weekday will allow us to move the fastest.

Emerald Necklace Stage race- 75 Miles. Aug 22nd-24th WTF are we thinking.

Kismet – BEAST of the east. It will be Heaters first attempt at the big boy. 13 miles. 3rd weekend of Sept. This is by far the hardest half marathon I have ever run.

Vermont 50? Probably out this year. The stage race is going to cost a fortune especially after all the gear purchase.

Vulcans Fury Trail Race – 13 miles Oct 18th.

Roaring falls Trail race – 10 Miles ? I can’t remember Nov 8th.

Other goals this summer. Take climbing classes. Do a few hikes….Get the back yard done and the roof’s replaced.

I have so much vacation time at work that I am taking this year for me. I burned out on this project the past three years. If I don’t take the time for myself I can’t see me keeping my sanity this year.

I still would love to quit and be a rent a ‘guy’ All my friends are convinced that they could hire me for one day a week.

Oh and somehow I need to work in parking enforcement in Rye this summer…… GAHHH

Image

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

