Who wants to be a rock star?

Not me, that’s for sure.  The year started off with a fun filled night with friends.  We rented a Karaoke machine from a very sketchy guy and it barely worked but Eric (Heather’s husband) and myself were able to salvage something out of it.  The night started around 6pm and I didn’t get home until 4am.  It was FUN.  I was actually able to play guitar in front of people for the first time in …shit …since 2004?   It wasn’t until recently that I had the urge to play out again.  It was fun and  I do miss it sometimes.  Actually, this was the first time I played acoustic in front of anyone.

Surprisingly, the monster I created messaged me around 10am the next morning wanting to run.  I was hurting but since I kept calling her out the night before I knew I better show up.  So in keeping with a three year tradition I have run on Christmas Day and New Years Day.  Our friend Steve showed up too and the three of us managed a solid run, it actually felt good to get out there.

So this is it.  Count down begins…we are cruising into the last weekend of no structure.  This is a big deal.  The goal is to get Heather to the finish of the Pineland 50K and her training starts Jan 6th.   Right now there is only a minor hip issue that we have to deal with but I’m not worried (Yet).  If we have to push off a run or two a week that’s ok.  I think we have done a good job of ramping up the work.  This plan we are following is for people who are in Marathon shape and we are not but we do have a solid base.  Still have good lungs and a 7 mile road run requires very little effort at this point.  We have been keeping our paces on the very slow side.  I want to concentrate on proper heart rate training right now and that means keeping her at about a 12 min/mile for now.  We’ll start to add some speed workouts in later but for now it’s about keeping her healthy.    She was complaining a little bit about not going into training 100% but honestly we started up and did some aggressive stuff early.  We’ll see what Lanie says and go from there.

As for myself , I’m feeling strong.  My upper body needs more work but overall the knee issues are gone and I’m ready to start putting on the miles.  My heart rate has been a little erratic the past few runs but I think I need to work on my stamina.  I’m looking forward to pushing myself training both Lise and Heather at the same time.  Hopefully I survive…

I hope to be doing more daily posts on progress, may not get the deep introspective stuff but I think if I can make a habit of writing some of that will just come out.

Sunday we are all going snowshoeing and I hope to make Heather work extra hard by pulling our friends son, Patrick, the whole time. I think my overall goal is for her to hate me at least 95% of the time.  If I can get that then I know I’m doing a good job.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Who wants to be a rock star?

  1. It’s been awhile. Good to see an update. Thanks!

  2. umm..I didn’t see Heather pulling Patrick at ALL!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

